1947 St. Louis Country Club
Snead sank an amazing 18-foot putt to force a playoff against Lew Worsham. Tied on the 18th green in the playoff, both men faced very short putts for birdies, but just as Snead was about to swing, Worsham interrupted to stop play, saying he wasn’t sure whether Snead was away and wanted a measurement to determine who should putt first. Whether gamesmanship or a genuine concern for order of play, it was ruled that Snead was away after all. The Slammer resumed his putting stance … and missed. Worsham sunk his putt for the win.