Denver Broncos and Seattle Seahawks Advance to Super Bowl

The two teams will meet at Super Bowl XLVIII on Feb. 2

  • Share
  • Read Later

Correction appended: Jan. 20, 2014, 12:10 a.m. E.T.

The Denver Broncos will face off against the Seattle Seahawks at Super Bowl XLVIII in New Jersey on Feb. 2.

Peyton Manning and the Denver Broncos advanced after defeating Tom Brady and the New England Patriots in the American Football Conference championship. The Broncos dominated early in the game, keeping New England from scoring more than three points until after halftime. The Patriots staged a late-game comeback, scoring 13 points in the fourth quarter. But Denver’s defense ultimately shut Brady down, leading to a 26-16 Broncos win.

The National Football Conference battle in Seattle, on the other hand, was anybody’s game until the final drive. The San Francisco 49ers and quarterback Colin Kaepernick were driving down the field with just minutes left to play, needing a touchdown for the win. Kaepernick threw a pass intended for receiver Michael Crabtree in the end zone, but the ball was tipped by the Seattle Seahawks’ Richard Sherman and then picked off by Malcolm Smith. That interception effectively ended the game, sending Seattle to the Super Bowl.

The Denver Broncos have been to the Super Bowl six times, winning back-to-back championships in 1998 and 1999. The Seattle Seahawks made one appearance in 2006, but lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers.

An earlier version of this article misstated how many times the Denver Broncos have been to the Super Bowl. They have been to the Super Bowl six times.