Former British No. 1 Tim Henman is known as a quintessentially polite Englishman. Strangely enough, then, he was the first player ever to be disqualified from Wimbledon, for accidentally hitting a ball girl in the head in 1995. Henman and his partner Jeremy Bates were leading Jeff Tarango and Henrik Holm in a first round doubles match when Henman missed a shot and smacked the ball he was holding in anger. Unfortunately it struck a ball girl in the head from only a foot away while she was dashing across the court. The 16-year-old fell to the ground and then ran to her position, crying. The referees defaulted the pair for ball abuse “on the basis of unsportsmanlike conduct,” a decision which the crowd booed heartily. At a press conference later, Henman said, “It’s a complete accident, but I’m responsible for my actions.” The next day, the 20-year-old presented the girl, Caroline Hall, with a massive bouquet and — at the prompting of photographers — a kiss to apologize.